Habits and Dreams

I have this memory of writing down a long list of ideas for the blog, and feeling really inspired. You know the times when ideas are just flowing and connections are easier to see? Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi calls it “flow.” (Watch his TED talk!)

Sadly, that memory was part of a dream, because that list isn’t where I put it. My dreams can be annoyingly realistic sometimes.

Still, it’s interesting (to me, at least) that after eight years of blogging, at multiple pages, that I’m still dreaming about being better at this writing process than I am. Some folks that I like to read (Elizabeth, MaryAnn, Mihee and Katherine all come to mind) are pastors and writers – they write not only for the habit, but because its who they are. That isn’t really me, and that’s fine. Blogging to me is a way to think, a way to interact and reflect, and a practice. I write specifically because I’m NOT a writer, but the pastoral calling involves a great deal of writing. Its good for me, and I think good for my work whether that’s hanging with Bliss or preaching or leading worship or sitting with people.

Yesterday’s sermon at our church was about habit and practices. She talked about the ways we eat food, and the slow food movement as metaphor for the way Jesus works on our souls. She also talked about a study that found the number one way to spark a deeper spiritual life – across theologies and denominations- is for people to spend time every day reading and reflecting on Scripture. The key seemed to be doing it every day – it didn’t seem to matter much whether it was 15 minutes or an hour.

I think habits lead to dreams. Blogging here with some frequency led to dreams of blogging with ease. Imagine what we could dream if we had the habit of encountering the living Word each day through Scripture.

“There’s nothing more radical, nothing more revolutionary, nothing more subversive against injustice and oppression than the Bible. If you want to keep people subjugated, the last thing you place in their hands is a Bible.” – Archbishop Desmond Tutu

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in churchy, sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

