New Horizons: Poetry of Hafiz

I was recently introduced to the poetry of Hafiz, a Sufi poet from the fourteenth century. I’m just beginning to dig into it a big – poetry has never been a big part of my life, really – but it has some fascinating images and ideas. I find them especially striking in more modern translations. I’m especially loving this one, found at PoetSeers – click to find the rest of poem, translated by Daniel Ladinsky:

Several Times in the Last Week

Ever since Happiness heard your name
It has been running through the streets
Trying to find you.
And several times in the last week,
God Himself has even come to my door-
Asking me for your address!
Once I said,
‘God,
I thought You knew everything.
Why are You asking me
Where Your lovers live?’
And the Beloved replied,
Indeed, Hafiz, I do know Everything –
But it is fun playing dumb once in a while

 

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

