Monday Meditation: Be Still

Our church, in the summer, has children’s chapel time during the readings and sermons, and this was my week to lead the storytime. Stories are told using Godly Play* and Worship Center stories, which I’m having fun getting used to. While I’ve known of and about the curriculum for ages, I’ve never had much opportunity to be the storyteller. Telling stories is fun.

Before each story, we sing a few songs. Since the kids are ages 3-7, they tend to request stuff like Old MacDonald, which is fine. But the last song we sing is always “Be Still and Know That I Am God.” Bliss calls this “God Song” and insists that her daddy sing it to her when he puts her to bed. (When I’m on bedtime routine, she insists on Rainbow Connection.) Singing the same song before the story each week helps everyone get ready to watch and listen and wonder about God.

Being still doesn’t come easily to me. I prefer to be doing something, or at least planning to do something. I prefer to be out & about rather than just sitting at home during the day. But having a cue to watch and listen for God doesn’t mean remaining still – it means being still long enough to be ready for paying attention. If Bliss can do that, maybe I can too.

Be still and know that I am God
Be still and know that I am God
Be still and know that I am God

*If you’ve never seen these stories, check out CFMUPres’s channel on youtube to see the stories being told

 

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in churchy, linkage, mondaymeditation, youngestamongus. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

