Monday Meditation

I will meditate on your commandments *
and give attention to your ways – Psalm 119:15

Soul Tending is a book that gets pulled off my shelf with some regularity. It gives me ideas for small groups lessons workshops, and I like to put it on resource tables for people to browse. Its a series of spiritual practices, intended to be explored with a regular small group gathering, inspired by Kenda Creasy Dean and Ron Foster’s fantastic youth ministry book, The Godbearing Life.

The first practice in the book is meditation. One description of meditation caught my eye, which likens a meditative way of life to having a song stuck in your head. A particular phrase of Scripture or image of God floats in your head, and echoes through your week.

I imagine that many of those phrases pick us, more than we choose them. Sometimes we call that “the Holy Spirit at work.” But being the control freak and generous person that I am (aren’t we all a pile of paradox?), I’m going to share my intended meditations for the week in this space on Mondays.

This week in our house means Vacation Bible School and a visiting toddler, who I’ll be taking care of in additon to Bliss for much of the week. I’m going to start simple and obvious, and go with Mark 9:37:

Whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me, and whoever welcomes me welcomes not me but the one who sent me.

Kinda long, I suppose, but “welcome” makes a nice shorthand. Away we go!

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in mondaymeditation, prayers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

