Here In My Heart

I’m on vacation, enjoying the beach and celebrating some family milestones. In the meantime, I’m posting some lyrics from the joint choir concert between our church and the reform synagogue that we live with.

This piece, done by our choir, has haunted me all spring, since we sang it at the Easter Vigil this year. Its intricately beautiful, both in terms of lyrics and harmonies. The composer was one of the founders of the Kings Singers, Bob Chilcott. I can’t find a good version on youtube, but find the clip on iTunes. Then buy it. I did.

I am the heart that houses the cone
the cone enclosing the cedar
I am the cedar sawn for the cradle
Forest of the body, body of the tree
I am the cradle, rocking the baby
I am the baby containing the man
I am the man, nailed on the cross
Tree of the body, body of the forest

It goes on a bit more, and gets more beautiful. The poetry is by Kevin Crossley-Holland, worth checking out on his own.

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in soundofmusic. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

