Johari Window image from nwlink.com

My experience with Clinical Pastoral Education – a sort of field ed group, usually in a hospital, that most clergy go through – was useful, though not in the traditional ways. One of the more traditional pieces I did hear about there  was the Johari Window. Now, this concept was explained to me in a dysfunctional kind of way, but the basic idea is that parts of ourselves are known more to ourselves but others also see parts of ourselves that we might not. Add the miracle of graphs, and you get the Johari Window.

In practice, I’m reminded of this tool when others see something in me that is clear to them but I’ve never really thought about. Today I experienced being a window for others and having reflections brought back to me. It was grace-filled and joyful and encouraging.

While I wouldn’t use any of those words to describe my CPE experience (amIright, Tripp?) – it was nice to associate the memory with today’s blessings. I guess that’s a whole other window on the past.

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

