Any May A Beautiful Change: The Garden

The uber-wonderful Katherine‘s book Any Day A Beautiful Change is out, and to celebrate she is hosting a blog carnival called Any May A Beautiful Change. Katherine’s blog and writing and stories are so beautiful, how could I not jump in?

Last May, I had just announced that I was leaving my congregation to try this experiment called “being a stay-at-home mom.” The life-changing and transitions made very little time for growing things. A friend built and tended our garden box in exchange for the spare room. Bliss went to daycare, and played with our friends while we packed and planned and made budgets.

This May has been different. The warm spring here in Michigan – maybe everywhere?- means that plants and gardens and blossoms and allergies are showing up early. Bliss & I trekked down to the farmer’s market, and picked out three tomato plants and some basil This morning we put them in the garden box. We ripped out old roots, dug up some dirt, and promised over and over and over again that ants and spiders are SUPPOSED to live outside, and no they won’t hurt you. With a deep enough hole (I hope), we dropped in our seedlings. Bliss filled up her watering can and not-so-gently poured water on the new plants.

I have no idea what I’m doing with this growing nonsense. But I’m relaxing into the time it takes, the time I have in this season, to experiment and plant and water and see what comes of it. I’m also marveling at what this small person is making me grow into. Someone who gardens? Its so out of character that its really kind of hilarious.

I guess growth really is all about change. And if it tastes as good as last year’s tomatoes, then bring. it. on.

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Any May A Beautiful Change: The Garden

  1. This is lovely. Lovely! Thanks so much for joining in. And happy gardening!

Talk Amongst Yourselves

