Drop Everything And Read. Tomorrow.

Apparently there is a national “drop everything and read” day, and it’s tomorrow. To celebrate, Alphamom has these bookmarks you can download and print.

Honestly, I’m not much of a reader anymore. I’m not sure when that happened- I used to devour books as a kid. I like books. I like knowing the things that are in books. But the process of sitting quietly and reading is less appealing to me now than when I was a child.

Except that I will spend plenty of time reading shorter pieces online. As in, blogs. So my project here, ax much as its a little bit about writing and ministry and identity, is also just about reading. About finding enough personal in the pages that I’m drawn to the books. About building up my online and out loud thoughts so that books are conversations and not just escapes (my childhood preference).

I want to read more because I want Bliss to enjoy it. Reading -and liking it- seems to go hand in hand with other traits I want for her: curiosity, empathy, open to experiences, enthusiasm.

So what are you reading, and who are you talking to? Maybe I’ll even print myself some of these nifty bookmarks.

About mommymergent

Joyfully living as momma to Miss Bliss, serving the Episcopal Church as priest, and reluctantly becoming part of the mysterious emergent church
This entry was posted in linkage, mommahood. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk Amongst Yourselves

